Home > Uncategorized > Last bit from Santiago

Last bit from Santiago

Well as I wrap up before my last night out in Santiago, I figured I’d give a quick little blurb on what I’ve been up to…

Thankfully I got an influx of people of people in my (near) empty dorm… But it wasn’t that bad with the deaf French guy: I managed to get a basic mode of communication down (albeit after he walked in on me hanging a leak).   A basic point and thumbs up on things.  It works for such situation as: The washroom is all yours, will you watch my laptop?, is this bed free?

I’ve basically been hanging with my new Finnish friend Joni (from just outside of Helsinki).  I’ve never really met a Fin before, so it is pretty cool.  Their very reserved in their mannerisms, and speak in a quiet tone (fitting the Scandinavian stereotype.)  Perhaps the best part as a Canadian is being able to talk hockey – in depth.

I’ve basically been spacing out my museum tours so I’ve had something to everyday.  Modern art here in Chile – in my opinion – is a little bit behind the likes of Argentina (and Brazil which in my opinion is the best in South America.)  I also saw some good classical art at the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes.  The only letdown here was the fact it’s main draw: the glass ceiling – was partially blocked due to the balcony being closed for renovations.  None the less I did snag some pictures.  Today (Sept. 4th) I went to the Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino which was by far my favorite.  It has art from all the ancient Latin-American cultures: Incan, Zapotec, Toltec, Mayan, Aztec…you name it, it was here.  They even had really old mummies (predating Ancient Egypt.)

Some modern Art

Best shot I could get at Bellas Artes

Me chowing down some Salmon Sushi

Joni sipping some wine

Our Sushi

Me + my peeps at Precolombino

Some Ancient Art

Carving

Ancient Mummy

Me and Joni did go out to a Japanese restaurant for some pretty good sushi.  It was cheap to: roughly $10 for our 2 rolls (8 pieces) each and some alcohol with it.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

